top of page

Mare or gelding?

Day 24 Social Media Challenge from #teamequissimo:


My best jumpers have been mares but my superstars have been geldings.


My Ginger Ninja is more like a mare than a gelding, he is so super sensitive.


Arctic Lady Aka Gilly

Jumped by Me and Dad











My special relationships have been with the geldings.

My Pure Bred Arab was my true teenage superstar he did everything. He nimbly jumped with amazing speed and he helped teach me Medium Dressage movements.

Present day superstar Alfie my Ex Racer who tries his absolute heart out every time we work together, even when he doesn't feel like it.



Mares seem to have a better idea of self preservation, although I did have one that would keep reversing until something solid was in her way.


Our cheeky Ninja would rather get under your coat with you, although its normally to search to food and he loves to play with hats and toggles for his own amusement

Mares definitely prefer their own space.

Our cheeky Ninja would rather get under your coat with you, although its normally to search to food and he loves to play with hats and toggles for his own amuzement


My Negotiating skills was put into very good practice with Ultima my KWPN Jumping mare


Geldings don't have the ''time of the month'' strop


I wouldn't say no to another Mare but I would probably look for Gelding first


bottom of page