top of page

January Joy

This is the beginning of anything you want

The first month of the year. A perfect time to reset. Charge the batteries. Start planning for the year ahead

How does it go past so fast. I am sure it was only Christmas like yesterday in my thoughts


I am feeling very well organised this year. I have my Goals set. I have taken time to think about what I want to achieve.


The list has been slightly amended already but that's ok its meant to be a work in progress


The SMART Diary Day one, the first blank page of 365 days has been written upon

I have always kept a diary and I have always had one messy diary for everything but never had one specifically for my goals and results. I am super organised but one main diary can get rather full.

A lovely friend gave me a rather lovely bound diary which has become my special diary for my equine goals and motivation. My 2019 thoughts can be all kept in one special place.

There is something great about putting pen to paper. I tried it online in previous years but its just not the same.


SMART Goals = SPECIFIC, MEASURABLE, ACHIEVABLE, RELEVANT, TIME FRAME I have pencilled in my first three months of competitions and training Added all the big dates for the year to plan the smaller dates for working towards the bigger dates. I have given myself a new aim that I feel is achievable but will also help my long term dressage goals and help me focus away from the negatives. I am very bad at holding onto negatives



Fitness Goals

I have found a piece of equipment I can use that doesn't cause pain. The cross trainer that you stand on that moves your legs and arms. Like your walking up steps and swinging arms at the same time.

It must keep me level as I don't get hip pain using it.

I have only used it a few times so my stamina isn't great, but that is ok. I know I am unfit and you have to start somewhere. General plan is 10 mins on the cross trainer then back to the bike to finish off my 30 min gym session before I swim.


We have had a chat with Back2it Chiropractic about the best exercises that I can physically cope with long term and the cross trainer was suggested as it puts very little pressure on your knees. Hopefully I wont twang whilst I stride.

My hip doesn't tire so easily on the cross trainer so I should be able to do more


Not helped by the fact I sit on my back side at work all day. I have also set myself a target to help with my fitness routine and my aim is a fitted waistcoat from Etienne for our summer dressage with no bulges.



















Related Posts


We Jumped Mumaathel's Diary

Therapy and Tweaking Mumaathel's Diary


bottom of page